Badge +1

Welcome! In this guide you will find:

• What are groups

• What is the difference between groups and categories

• Group functionalities

• Getting started with Groups

• Report feedback and issues

What are groups

Groups is a brand new feature built for communities with a larger member base. Groups empower your users to engage around a specific;

• Interest (I like flying drones, who else..)

• Role (I’m a Customer Success Manager, how can I best..)

• Industry (I’m in Healthcare, how do you deal with..) 

• Region (I’m in Amsterdam, who is near me that I can relate to..)

• Product (I’m using product X with version Y, how can I get the most out of it..)

• etc.

This feature allows you to create public and private groups from Control, and to organize the content around a common interest or theme. 

Community members can browse, view and join groups. Once member of a group they can ask questions and start discussions - Ultimately Groups allows members to more easily engage with the content they find most valuable.

What is the difference between groups and categories

Groups and categories have a lot in common, they both serve as a bucket that contains content around a common theme. Groups, however, tend to focus on a more specific interest that only applies to a small segment of users within the community. Groups typically consist of a few dozens of members.

Where categories are completely anonymous (you don’t know who is interested and subscribed to a category) groups thrive on the social aspect of group members (knowing which other community members share the same interest and passion as you.) When you become a member of a group you will appear in a group member list. Unlike categories, community managers and moderators can export a list of group members.