Solved

What happens with private messages when an account is being deleted?

  • 23 November 2020
  • 4 replies
  • 53 views

Userlevel 6
Badge +4

Basically as the title says. ;)

Will private messages automatically be deleted from the database when a user account is being deleted? Or are they being kept despite the account deletion? I’m asking because we need to make sure that all identifiable user data is being removed when a user asks us to remove the account and all personal information.   

icon

Best answer by Suvi Lehtovaara 7 December 2020, 13:59

@bjoern_schulze I actually just read this topic: 

It says that they are deleted, so I suppose they are deleted? :relaxed:

 

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +3

This is a really good question @bjoern_schulze, I’m also very interested in hearing the answer :)

Userlevel 6
Badge +4

I’m bumping up this one. cc @Julian 

Userlevel 5
Badge +3

@bjoern_schulze I actually just read this topic: 

It says that they are deleted, so I suppose they are deleted? :relaxed:

 

Userlevel 7
Badge +1

Sorry for being a bit late to the party, I was on holiday...

I have just tested it to be 100% sure. As the user does not exist any more, the conversation itself is being deleted. So yes, if a user is being erased, the messages are erased as well. :)

Reply